• Subscribe to our e-letters

  • Facebook_icon

The Stephen Spender Prize 2018 for poetry in translation
in association with the Guardian

Translate a poem from any language, ancient or modern, into English.

• Discover the 2018 winning and commended entries
• Read the 2018 judges' reports
• Read the winning entries from previous years
• Read past winners' news.

Scroll down to download the booklet of winning entries from previous years
Email to request a hard copy of the 2018 booklet of winning entries (UK addresses only).

The judges of the 2018 competition are:

Margaret Jull Costa Olivia McCannon Sean O'Brien

Are you interested in using poetry translation in the classroom or looking for some guidance about translating poetry? Read some general notes on translating poetry, consider the judges' advice to those thinking of entering the Stephen Spender Prize, see George Szirtes' categories of translated poetry, download our poetry translation activity sheets and read about a workshop translating African praise poetry with Albert Nyathi. More ideas for using translation with children can be found on the Translators in Schools and Modern Poetry in Translation websites.

Gabi Reigh won first prize in 2017 in the Open category for her translation from the Romanian of The Traveller by Marin Sorescu. Here she talks about her reasons for entering, and her choice of poem.

'The Traveller was the first poem I ever translated. I actually first read it in translation 15 years ago and I started to think about it again after I came back from walking the Camino de Santiago last year. I wanted to show it to the friends who had accompanied me on that walk, as I felt that so much of what we had experienced was echoed there, and because I couldn't find that translation anymore, I translated it myself. To me, translating comes from the same desire that I have when teaching English literature to bring something that I think is beautiful to someone who hasn't read before, as if to say: 'Isn't this amazing? Isn't this exactly what tiredness feels like, isn't this exactly what trees look like out of a train window?'

'I entered the Stephen Spender competition because I wanted more people to read this poem. However, as I was fully resigned not to see the £8 entrance fee again, I was incredibly delighted when I found out that I won. Attending the award ceremony was a truly gratifying experience because of the conversations I had with poets about my work. When translating the poem, I agonised over each word choice, endlessly rearranging lines to create particular rhythms and effects, and it meant a great deal to me to hear poets like Sean O'Brien remarking on how the poem sustained its shifts in tone or Alan Brownjohn noticing the use of understatement in certain lines.

'Since I found out that I won the competition, I've felt encouraged to translate more Romanian poetry and I have nearly finished Lucian Blaga's 'Poems of Light', which I will try to get published. As a teacher, I was also inspired by the wonderful work done by the young people who read their poems at the awards ceremony, and I will work with some of my students on entering translations for the Under 18 category of next year's Stephen Spender prize. I will also try to get involved in the Translators in Schools project, if an opportunity becomes available. Taking part in this competition has created for me a real desire to bring Romanian poetry to those who haven't read it before and to help other bilingual young people discover their native country's literary culture, and then share it with others.'
(Gabi Reigh, 2017)

Listen to Spoken Word Educator Catherine Brogan interview Weronika Lewandowska, whose translation of 'Museum' by Wizlawa Szymborska was commended in the 14-and-under category in 2014.

Alexia Sloane won the 2014 14-and-under category with her translation from French of a poem by Jean Dominique. Here she talks about why she entered and how she chose the poem.

'My best gift from the Stephen Spender prize is self-belief. Translation freed me from years of writer's block, renewed my confidence, and led to the publication of my first book...' (Jane Tozer, 2012). Read past winners' news.


Read the winning entries from previous years

Download a booklet:
2017 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2016 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2015 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2014 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2013 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2012 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2011 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2010 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2009 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2008 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2007 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2006 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2005 Stephen Spender Prize booklet
2004 Stephen Spender Prize booklet

The Stephen Spender Trust is grateful to Old Possum's Practical Trust, The Sackler Trust, the John S Cohen Foundation and the Rothschild Foundation for their support of the 2017 Stephen Spender Prize.