• Subscribe to our e-letters

  • Facebook_icon

About the Trust

History and aims

The Stephen Spender Trust was established in 1997 to honour Stephen Spender’s achievements as poet and translator of poetry, and as champion of the rights of creative artists and writers to free expression. Founding members who have since died include Valerie Eliot, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Czeslaw Milosz, Harold Pinter and Natasha Spender.

Inspired by Stephen Spender's literary interests and achievements, the Stephen Spender Trust aims to widen appreciation of the literary legacy of Stephen Spender and his contemporaries and to promote literary translation. The Trust's accounts and annual returns for the past five years can be viewed on the Charity Commission website.

valerie and natasha 
Valerie Eliot and Natasha Spender

Members of the Trust

Lady Antonia Fraser, CBE
Lord Gowrie, PC
Tony Harrison
David Hockney, CH
Christopher MacLehose, CBE
Prudence Skene, CBE
Wole Soyinka
Matthew Spender
Philip Spender
Richard Stone, OBE
Sir Tom Stoppard, OM, CBE
Professor John Sutherland

President Sir Michael Holroyd, CBE
Sarah Ardizzone
Jonathan Barker, MBE*
Sasha Dugdale*
Michael Englard
Professor Warwick Gould
Harriet Harvey Wood, OBE
Jonathan Heawood
Joanna Hunter
Professor Karen Leeder
Caroline Moorehead, CBE
David Rogers (Chair)
Saskia Spender
Tim Supple

*Also a Trustee

Director Charlotte Ryland
Web Manager Martin Bannon