• Subscribe to our e-letters

  • Facebook_icon

The Stephen Spender Prize 2020 for poetry in translation
in association with the Guardian

The judges

Read the winning entries from previous years

Derrick Kakembo)

Khairani Barokka is an Indonesian writer, artist, and translator in London, whose work has been presented extensively, in fifteen countries. She is Modern Poetry in Translation's Inaugural Poet-In-Residence, and Researcher-in-Residence at UAL's Decolonising the Arts Institute. Among Okka's honours, she was an NYU Tisch Departmental Fellow and is a UNFPA Indonesian Young Leader Driving Social Change. Okka is co-editor of Stairs and whispers: D/deaf and Disabled Poets Write Back (Nine Arches), author-illustrator of Indigenous Species (Tilted Axis; Vietnamese translation published by AJAR Press), and author of debut poetry collection Rope (Nine Arches Press). More...
Mary Jean Chan is a bilingual poet, editor and academic from Hong Kong. Her debut pamphlet, A Hurry of English, was selected as the 2018 Poetry Book Society Summer Pamphlet Choice and her debut collection, Fl├Ęche, was published by Faber & Faber in July 2019. She is an editor of Oxford Poetry, an advisory board member at the Poetry Translation Centre and a member of the Folio Academy. Mary Jean is Lecturer in Creative Writing (Poetry) at Oxford Brookes University. More...
Daljit Nagra is an award-winning poet, and a lecturer in Creative Writing at Brunel University, London. He has published four poetry collections with Faber & Faber. He has won the Forward Prize for Best Individual Poem and Best First Collection, the South Bank Show Decibel Award and the Cholmondeley Award. He is the inaugural Poet-in-Residence for Radio 4 & 4 Extra, and presents a weekly programme, Poetry Extra, on Radio 4 Extra. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and was elected to its Council, and is a trustee of the Arvon Trust. He has judged many prizes including the Samuel Johnson Prize, the T. S. Eliot Prize, the Costa Prize, the David Cohen Prize and the National Poetry Competition. More...