• Subscribe to our e-letters

  • Facebook_icon

The Stephen Spender Prize 2017 for poetry in translation
in association with the Guardian

The judges

Read the 2016 winning entries
Download the 2016 booklet
Read the winning entries from previous years
Margaret Jull Costa has been a literary translator for over thirty years and has translated works by novelists such as Eça de Queiroz, José Saramago, Javier Marías and Teolinda Gersão, as well as poets such as Sophia de Mello Breyner Andresen and Ana Luísa Amaral. In 2013 she was invited to become a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and in 2014 was awarded an OBE for services to literature.
Olivia McCannon's poetry collection Exactly My Own Length (Carcanet/Oxford Poets, 2011) was shortlisted for the Seamus Heaney Centre Prize and won the 2012 Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize. She lived for nine years in France and her translations include Balzac's Old Man Goriot (Penguin Classics, 2011), contemporary poetry and drama. She co-judged the Popescu European Poetry Translation Prize in 2015.

Sean O'Brien is a poet, critic, anthologist and editor, Professor of Creative Writing at Newcastle University and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. His sixth collection, The Drowned Book (2007), won the Forward and T S Eliot Prizes. Recent publications include Collected Poems (2012) and The Beautiful Librarians (2015), which shared the Roehampton Poetry Prize with Carole Satyamurti's Mahabharata.