• Subscribe to our e-letters

  • Facebook_icon

The Stephen Spender Prize 2016 for poetry in translation
in association with the Guardian

The judges

Read the 2016 winning entries
Download the 2016 booklet
Read the winning entries from previous years
Katie Gramich is a Professor of English Literature at Cardiff University. She is a Comparative Literature specialist and has published literary translations, anthologies, editions, academic books and essays on modern literature, especially women's writing and the literatures of Wales. She is an elected Fellow of the English Association and the Learned Society of Wales.
Sean O'Brien is a poet, novelist, playwright, critic, broadcaster, anthologist and editor. He is Professor of Creative Writing at Newcastle University and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. His first six poetry collections gained awards, most recently The Drowned Book (2007), which won both the Forward and T S Eliot Prizes.

His version of Dante's Inferno was published in 2006, and the bilingual poetry anthology, The Third Shore, published simultaneously in Bristol in the UK and Shanghai in China in 2013, includes translations he produced during ground breaking poet-to-poet workshops in China that year. In 2015, his versions of the poems of Cape Verde Portuguese poet Corsino Fortes were published in the USA.

O'Brien's own Collected Poems was published in 2012. His eighth and most recent poetry collection, The Beautiful Librarians (2015), shared the Roehampton Poetry Prize with Carole Satyamurti's Mahabharata and was shortlisted for the T S Eliot Prize.
(Picture © Caroline Forbes)

Stephen Romer, poet, scholar, editor and translator, is Maître de Conférences at the Université François Rabelais de Tours and, in 2015/16, Fowler Hamilton Research Fellow at Christ Church, Oxford. His publications include Twentieth Century French Poems (2002), Into the Deep Street: Seven Modern French Poets (2009), a highly acclaimed translation of Yves Bonnefoy's L'Arrière-pays (2012) and French Decadent Tales (2013), an anthology of fin-de-siècle horrors and refinements.