• Subscribe to our e-letters

  • Facebook_icon

The Joseph Brodsky/
Stephen Spender Prize 2012

Judged by Sasha Dugdale, Catriona Kelly
and Glyn Maxwell

Sasha Dugdale    Catriona Kelly      Glyn Maxwell

Read the judges’ reports
2011 Joseph Brodsky/Stephen Spender Prize

The winners are


Boris Dralyuk and Irina Mashinski
for Field Hospital by Arseny Tarkovsky


Iryna Shuvalova
for The Prayer of the Touch by Sergei Chegra


Alexandra Berlina
for You can't tell a gnat… by Joseph Brodsky


Huw Davies
for Camellia by Igor Irteniev
Boris Dralyuk
for All that Happened to Me by Irina Mashinski
Mark Hanin
for I Washed before Bed in the Yard by Osip Mandelstam
Katherine Young
for This is life: the summer house… by Inna Kabysh

About the judges

Sasha Dugdale

is a poet and translator. In the 1990s she worked for the British Council in Russia, where she set up the Russian New Writing Project with the Royal Court Theatre. Since her return in 2001 she has translated new plays for the Court, the RSC and other theatre companies. She has published two collections of translations of Russian poetry. The most recent, Birdsong on the Seabed (Bloodaxe) by Elena Shvarts, was a Poetry Book Society choice and shortlisted for the Popescu and Academica Rossica Translation Awards. A third collection of her own poems, The Red House, was published by Carcanet in August 2011.

Catriona Kelly

is Professor of Russian at the University of Oxford and a Fellow of the British Academy. She has published widely on Russian cultural history, including most recently Comrade Pavlik: The Rise and Fall of a Soviet Boy Hero (Granta Books, 2005), and Children’s World: Growing Up in Russia, 1890–1991 (Yale University Press, 2007). She has also edited An Anthology of Russian Women’s Writing (OUP 1994) and Utopias: Russian Modernist Texts, 1905–1940 (Penguin, 2009), and has published numerous translations of Russian authors, including Tsvetaeva, Mayakovsky, Leonid Borodin, Elena Shvarts, Olga Sedakova and others. She reviews regularly for the TLS and Guardian, and in 2007 she was a judge of the Rossica Prize for translation from Russian.

Glyn Maxwell

was born in Welwyn Garden City, England. He is the author of several collections of poems, including The Nerve (2002), which won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, and Hide Now (2008), which was short-listed for both the T.S. Eliot Prize for Poetry and the Forward Poetry Prize. The Breakage (1998), Time's Fool (2000), The Boys at Twilight (2000) and the Sugar Mile (2005) were all New York Times Notable Books of the Year. Many of his plays have been staged in London and New York, including his version of Aeschylus' Agamemnon which has its premiere this spring at the Phoenix Theatre Ensemble. Glyn was the poetry editor of The New Republic (2001–7). He lives in London.

The Joseph Brodsky/Stephen Spender Prize is supported by
the John S. Cohen Foundation, the Foyle Foundation, the Derek Hill Foundation, Anon, Jonathan Barker, Desmond Clarke, Christopher MacLehose, Valentina Polukhina, Lois Sieff, Prue Skene, Matthew Spender, Saskia Spender, Philip Spender and Daniel Weissbort