• Subscribe to our e-letters

  • Facebook_icon

The 2010 judges

Read the judges’ comments
Read the winning entries

To obtain the free booklet of winning entries and commentaries,
please email:

Susan Bassnett is Professor of Comparative Literature in the Dept of English and Comparative Literary Studies at the University of Warwick. She has written extensively on aspects of translation and comparative literature. Recent books include The Translator as Writer (2006) and a study of the poetry of Ted Hughes (2009). A collection of essays, Reflections on Translation, is due early in 2011. A collection of her poems and translations, Exchanging Lives, was published in 2002 and she is now working on a second collection.
Edith Hall Edith Hall is a Research Professor at Royal Holloway, University of London. Her books include The Return of Ulysses: A Cultural History of Homer’s Odyssey (2008) and Greek Tragedy: Suffering under the Sun (2010). She has written extensively on modern translations of classical poetry and classical themes in modern poetry.
Karen Leeder is Professor of Modern German Literature at the University of Oxford, and Fellow and Tutor in German at New College, Oxford. She has published widely on modern German literature, especially poetry, and also translates. Recent publications include Michael Krüger, Scenes from the Life of a Best-selling Author and Raoul Schrott, The Desert of Lop and After Brecht: A Celebration. Her translations of Evelyn Schlag's Selected Poems won the Schlegel-Tieck Prize 2005.
George Szirtes is a poet and translator from Hungarian. His fourteen books of poetry include Reel (2004), New and Collected Poems (2008) and The Burning of Books and Other Poems (2009). He was awarded the T S Eliot Prize in 2004. His translations of fiction and poetry, which have won various prizes and awards, include several novels by Sándor Márai and volumes of selected poems by Zsuzsa Rakovszky, Ottó Orbán and Ágnes Nemes Nagy.